Home Polity Enugu Govt Inaugurates 9-Member Committee on Status of State Property

Enugu Govt Inaugurates 9-Member Committee on Status of State Property


[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]Secretary to the Enugu State Government, Professor Simon Ortuanya,on Thursday, inaugurated a nine-member ad hoc committee on the status of property belonging to the state government.
Ortuanya who inaugurated the committee on behalf of Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu, expressed confidence that the committee will deliver on the assignment.
He said the state government gave the committee two months from the date of its constitution and inauguration to deliver.
Ortuanya said: ”when Enugu State was created on August 27, 1991 and subsequent creation of Ebonyi State on October 1, 1996, Enugu acquired  property.
” Some of these properties have been monetised and they may be found within the state or other parts of the country. On this note, the state government deemed it necessary to identify and determine the status of the property. This will aid government to know the number of assets the state owns, the status and the necessary actions to be taken by the state”.
Ortuanya noted that the terms of reference for the committee are, ” to identify Enugu State Government properties where so ever found. To determine the status of Enugu State Government properties where so ever found, determine the level of compliance to monetisation of the Enugu State property. Identify state landed property in and outside the state, verify the claims of individuals or corporate bodies to the property. Identify the level of indebtedness of individuals and corporate bodies to the state with respect to landed property allocations”.
He said the government also mandated the committee to make  further findings and recommendations that are reasonably incidental to the attainment of the above objectives.
Ortuanya added that, the committee is being chaired by the Deputy Chief of Staff to the Governor, Professor Malachy Okwueze while SA to the Governor, and SSG’s office Mr Monday Okeke serves as the secretary.
Other members includes, Mr Livinus Okoro, the Auditor General of Enugu State, Mr Charles Ngene, the Deputy Director, Town Planning.
Also, Mr Dennis Ezema, Mr Kingsley Chime, Chief Jeff Ogbodo, Mr Joshua Udeh, Mr Ebuka Odoh.
In his response, the chairman of the committee, Professor Okwueze thanked the state government for finding the members of the committee worthy of such assignment.
He noted that the term of reference of the assignment appears loaded but they are ready to serve the state in any capacity. On behalf of the committee, I assure the state government that we shall do our best in carrying out this noble assignment expeditiously. With the confidence posited on us, i am sure that we are going to deliver and timely”.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here