Home News Buhari Nominates ex-Service Chiefs, Another as Ambassadors

Buhari Nominates ex-Service Chiefs, Another as Ambassadors




President Muhammadu Buhari has forwarded the names of the immediate past Service Chiefs to the Senate as non-career Ambassadors-Designate.

Mr Femi Adesina, the President’s spokesman confirmed this in a statement in Abuja on Thursday.

The presidential aide said the president had already communicated this development via a letter to the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan.

The president said “In accordance with Section 171 (1), (2) (c) & sub-section (4) of 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I have the honour to forward for confirmation by the Senate, the under-listed five (5) names of nominees as Non-Career Ambassadors-Designate.”

The nominees are: retired General Abayomi Olonisakin, retired Lieutenant General Tukur Buratai, retired Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete Ibas, retired Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar, and retired AVM Mohammed Usman.

The president urged the senate to give expeditious consideration to the nomination.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here